This Year’s MLB Power Pros Still Won’t Use Motion [as a main feature]. Good Move?

26 06 2008

Is waggle meant for a deeper baseball game?

When last year’s Power Pros came out, I skipped the title. Motion sensing was confined to a specific mode, and I took issue with the decision. The idea of using mostly the classic controller for a Wii baseball game just didn’t make sense to me. “Surely, you are yet another lazy PS2 port!” I said to myself as I waggled a finger at the demo kiosk. I guess we know why Gamestop employees don’t talk to me!

My stance has entirely changed as of recently. One would think I’d be saddened, as the motion features remain virtually unchanged in this year’s iteration of the title. However, I think I’ve grown past the necessity of waggle in my games. Some Nintendo fans, like myself, have a tendency to nitpick over how well, or how much motion sensing is used in Wii titles. In actuality, we should hope for the best possible experiences to come to our favorite home consoles, regardless of means.

The recent truckload of footage on IGN looks incredible, to say the least. The videos show that MLB Power Pros is an incredibly deep baseball game, some say the deepest. In fact, Bozon’s preview refers to the series as unparalleled on Wii, with “incredible depth, nearly endless replayability, and some of the best traditional gameplay out there.” He also paints the game as mode heavy, and fairly technical. One begins to wonder how all the necessary precision would translate to motion sensing.

The bottom line, a Classic or Gamecube controller is probably the best way to experience the entire point of this old-school series. If that doesn’t sit well, then 2k continues to provide a slightly more complex Wii Sports style mode. Personally, I’ve grown to find the developer’s take it or leave it attitude rather ingenious.

Some would argue that opting out of motion as a major feature defeats the entire purpose of making a Wii game. I say, isn’t the entire point of the Wii to provide great, accessible gameplay at an affordable cost? As long as the game is fun and everyone get’s a chance to jump in on the action, who cares? At least, that the way I’ve felt as of recently. What’s our readers take?

[IGN – Power Pros Preview]
[IGN – New Power Pros Videos]

Actions

Information

One response

26 06 2008
This is Your Console PlayGround » This Year’s MLB Power Pros Still Won’t Use Motion. Good Move, or …

[…] Wesley Fenlon wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptSome Nintendo fans, like myself, have a tendency to nitpick over how well, or how much motion sensing is used in Wii titles. In actuality, we should hope for the best possible experiences to come to our favorite home consoles, … […]

Leave a Reply

