The $4 Wii Fit Mat

27 05 2008

So when I picked up Wii Fit last week I thought it would be a good idea to pick up one of the Wii Fit Mats as well. I asked the cashier to see one and noticed the price was $30. $30!? No, No, No. That won’t do. I can make the EXACT same thing at home for less than $5, I thought. Wanna know how? Read on for the VERY EASY instructions.

Okay first of all you’ll need the following things:

  1. Scissors
  2. Wii Balance Board
  3. Yourself
  4. 20″ Shelf Liner

Any hardware store or Walmart will sell shelf liner. It’s the exact same stuff the Hori Wii Fit mats are made of. Guess how much it costs. Go on, I’ll wait. Ready? $3.95! Woo Hoo! $26 saved! You’ll need the 20″ wide variety. It comes in various colors so feel free to pick your favorite.

There it is! 20″x7′

Once you get it home, unroll it and hold it up to your head to measure the length of your body. Add about a foot to give room for the balance board and cut with scissors. That’s it! Easy huh?

Now you have an attractive mat for Wii Fit without paying obnoxious retail pricing! Sure it doesn’t say ‘Wii Fit’ on it but whaddya want for $4?

The Shelf Liner is the Same Texture as the Hori Mat

Actions

Information

7 responses

27 05 2008
S_Pac_316

Thanks for the tip. 🙂

27 05 2008
Jimbo Jones

“it would be a food idea” Lol…craving food from burning all the calories?? Are you actually seeing any reduction in weight after all your working out?

28 05 2008
28 05 2008
Jimbo Jones

Seriously though, how’s the workout like with this thing? Are you finding that the ones that make you workout harder are actually working you out? Do you think this is something that will really be useful as a diet regimen aide?

28 05 2008
Lerch

I have a heart rate monitor and can tell you that for me at least, the hula hoop activity got my heart rate up to 170 for the duration of that exercise. Last night was the first time I wrote it while using Wii Fit, and doing 30 minutes with a sampling from all the categories, I burned 200 calories and had my pulse above 120 for most of the time (again, with the big peaks during the hula hoop and also the running in place. I absolutely plan to use this as a supplement to the diet and exercise regimen I currently have in place.

29 05 2008
Banana Goat

Wow. Good idea man. What are they thinking charging 1/3 of the price of a Wii fit for just a mat. Damn. I think someone should get hit for that.

30 05 2008
Learvok

I’d say you can even cut out the scisors and not cut the thing (Pun not intended). Saves about a minute of work and you don’t have to worry about cutting it perfectly. Plus you can roll uip what you dont need and put the rolled up parts infront of the balance board. Hell, I dont even think you need the board, it seems fun just to lay on. I’d even cut out the youself part. Do you honestly need yourself to enjoy a homemade mat you bought from walmart.

Yeah I know I went too far for a bad joke but I agree. I would rather buy a 4$ mat that did the same thing then pay 26$ more for the Wii Fit logo.

Leave a Reply

